I am looking at the most beautiful bright winter landscape this morning, for a few minutes, then another squall will roll in!  Coming from England, I find the snow mesmerizing, fascinating and I love it!  It is quiet as hubby is back at work, Christmas holidays over for another year.

So I took some pictures of my Euskal Oiloak chickens (the basques) the other day. My young ones and they are so cute.  The boys have some innate self-preservation cuddling gene and are handsome fellas! 

I learned  a new trick for photographing poultry, and I used it to get the great pics below!  Withhold their morning scratch til you are done taking pics and will you ever have their rapt attention, even the black penedesencas!   Check it out.  I can't wait to have  better camera that takes closeup shots of nosy chickens.   Most photographs taken of Euskal Oiloas are blurry closeups or of them pecking toes, laces, or snow off boots!  

Enjoy today's gallery!

Tags: Euskal Oiloa, partridge Chantecler, black penedesencas, rare breed chickens, friendly heritage chickens, skeffling lavender farm
Blondie (Euska oiloa), one of my Partridge Chanteclers, Black penedesencas, Lavender ameraucanas rare breed hens
Blondie (Euska oiloa), one of my Partridge Chanteclers, Black penedesencas, Lavender ameraucanas rare breed hens
Speckled Jim my Euskal Oiloa rooster!  See how big he is, the hen is a Lavender Orpington and is one of my biggest hens!  He is a gentle sweetheart.
Speckled Jim my Euskal Oiloa rooster! See how big he is, the hen is a Lavender Orpington and is one of my biggest hens! He is a gentle sweetheart.
rare Black Sumatra hen
Rare Black Sumatra hen "#5" wanting a cuddle. These calculating but endearing chickens are only affectionate in the winter when it is cold!
Three woodgrained (Partridge) Chanteclers, cold hardy and awesome winter laying chickens!   Looking for food!
Three woodgrained (Partridge) Chanteclers, cold hardy and awesome winter laying chickens! Looking for food!
This is Sonny Jim,  Specky's 18 week old Euskal Oiloa rooster son and he loves to cuddle.  Definitely a keeper.
This is Sonny Jim, Specky's 18 week old Euskal Oiloa rooster son and he loves to cuddle. Definitely a keeper.
Partridge Chantecler rooster dancing for the girls.  These young chickens are 22 weeks and the pullets are just laying.
Partridge Chantecler rooster dancing for the girls. These young chickens are 22 weeks and the pullets are just laying.



Leave a Reply.